The Land of the Rising Sun

IMG_4333

Japan is a great mirror in which the Japanese see themselves coming and going. It’s amazing how they underwent gentrification. Those dark years definitely did not pull them down… rather, they took great strides in their own personal evolution, redeemed themselves and shone. They’ve understood their location, experiences and how they’ve evolved collectively and organically through time, infusing their own culture and external impact appropriately.

Just two decades after WWII, it had become the third largest economic power in the world!

This is a country with no natural resources but it rose to be one of the seven wealthiest major developed nations. It had catapulted into a first world country.

Japan shone, like the rising sun, to the rest of the world!

20 Comments on “The Land of the Rising Sun

    • Japan will amaze you with its history, ultramodern structures and remnants of its past. The best time to visit is late March for the beautiful cherry blossoms. It just might be crowded with visitors during that time. It is advisable not to visit during holidays such as New Year, Obon which is mid-August and Golden Week from April 29 to May 5. Please check the weather too as typhoons usually hit Asian countries from August to October.

      • One thing I have learned from a wise friend is that “Quality of Life is a Choice.” I completely agree with you.

      • I agree with your friend too! Life is a continual struggle and to dwell in the positive is a deliberate measure.

  1. Hi! Thanks for stepping by at my blog and your like 🙂 I really like your blog, Japanese culture has always been fascinating to me 🙂 so I hope to learn smething new from your blog. cheers!

    • You’re welcome and thank you very much! It’s fulfilling to know that my readers appreciate and learn something from what I write.

    • It’s so fascinating – an old but ultramodern place with an immense cultural scene that if you want to reflectively look at what you’re seeing, my advice is for you to stay at least ten days in Tokyo, which is made up of 23 wards. If you want to explore other beautiful parts of Japan like Osaka, Kyoto, Nara, Hiroshima, etc., it will be another ten to fifteen days more.

      • Thanks for the tips! Yeah, anytime you’re in an Asian country, you gotta spend at least 3 weeks there. I’ve been to India but I probably only saw 1/20th of it!

      • You’re welcome! Oh, I want to visit Taj Mahal, Khajuraho temples and all those magnificent landmarks in India…and experience that strange spiritual creativity.

      • For the whole month of May, I’m dedicating my posts to my India experience starting next Thursday! 🙂 I don’t think I was quite the same when I got back from there lol

      • Looking forward to your posts. Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful experience.

  2. Thanks for stopping by and reading, ‘The Road’. These are such stunning photos and the history makes them even more enduring! I’m going to follow you so I won’t miss your post.

  3. You’re welcome and thank you too for sharing your profound thoughts and great undertaking which will help a lot of people. The greatest reward for doing this blog is to know that there are people who enjoy reading my posts. All these beautiful comments inspire me and give me real joy.

    • Walking around this ultramodern metropolis with vestiges of the past was amazing! I had to explore first where the heart of the country beats…and that’s Tokyo. Japan is such a huge and colorful sprawl that it beckons me to come back. A genuine appreciation for reblogging my post.

Leave a Reply

