Japanese Food

 

FotorCreated

It’s amazing how the Japanese, skilled in the arts, technology and trade, had also mastered the art of food dynamics. Japanese cuisine is reflective of a resolute quest for perfection: the ingredients are of high quality; layers of flavors are created without using too many spices thus emphasizing the natural goodness of the ingredients; the food presentation is a work of art, emphasizing on the natural beauty of the ingredients. There is a harmonious balance of texture, color, shape, and flavor.

Because delectable food with a sensational visual appeal triggers a wave of dopamines, our savoring faculties are enhanced…and heightens our dining experience. The exceptional palatability transforms a simple meal into a more pleasurable moment.

It’s not at all surprising that Tokyo has been labeled as “the food capital of the world”… and Michelin, giving Tokyo the most stars, vividly validates this.

Here are some of the Japanese dishes I tried during my beautiful sojourn in Tokyo.

SUSHI

P1120192

Sushi, Japan’s most famous dish, reflects the Japanese’s emphasis on creative presentation, obsession for freshness and exquisite quality. The raw seafood on top of a hand-pressed portion of vinegared rice, which is wrapped by seaweed or anything else, is a work of art…and for a fish or any seafood to be eaten raw, it must possess absolute freshness!

The origin of sushi dates back to ancient times since the concept of raw or fermented fish combined with rice was reported to have existed during the 7th century in Japan and as early as the 2nd century in China…but the sushi we know today, that small patties of hand-pressed rice topped with cuts of raw seafood, was said to have originated during the first half of the 19th century during the Edo period. It’s  known as Edomae sushi and the rice had a pinkish shade due to the kind of vinegar they used then.  It has gained so much popularity that it has creatively evolved resulting to more than a hundred varieties, with Tokyo’s nigiri-sushi as the most popular.  It has been reported that sushi is now a $14 billion industry in Japan and according to the Statistic Brain Research Institute, there are more or less 45,000 sushi restaurants within the country and 16,000 outside of Japan.

I was basically not fund of eating raw seafood but experiencing the taste of it in Japan, I reveled in the different textures, that certain playfulness of flavors which, when dipped in sauce with a little wasabi, gave a little punch.P1120191

It is a must to try the freshest sushi and sashimi in the thriving sushi restaurants within the historical and biggest seafood market on earth. All it takes is a bite to taste the freshness of the sushi and sashimi in one of the sushiya restaurants in Tsukiji market!  

P1120194

Seated at the sushi bar, fresh ingredients could be seen being prepared by highly-skilled sushi chefs.P1120195

If you want to taste the ultimate sushi and experience that deeper taste of culture, where one man’s passion for perfecting the art of making sushi brought him international recognition, a three-star Michelin restaurant and made him  the greatest sushi chef in the world, then you should try to get a seat on Jiro Ono’s Sukiyabashi Jiro restaurant. It is extremely hard to make reservations but it will be amazing to experience such a profound sushi dining experience.

This site gives more information and tips on how to make reservations:   http://www.businessinsider.com/get-reservations-at-sukiyabashi-jiro-2014-6

WAGYU

P1120803

The abundant sea surrounding their islands have yielded fresh seafood catches… and the bodies of water flowing within their picturesque land nourish the world’s most efficient farms.  For centuries, they had developed a healthy food culture, with the main diet composed of seafood, rice and vegetables.  Buddhism, a very strong influence on this culture-oriented society, banned the consumption of meat for more than one thousand years. It was only in 1868, at the start of the Meiji Period, when the ban was lifted…and some Japanese gradually started eating meat. After WWII, it has steadily increased, including  the seriousness in cattle breeding.

Although Japan started breeding cattle much later than other countries, wagyu, which means Japanese cow (wa – Japan, gyu – cow), holds the record as the most expensive beef and the best quality beef in the world.

The grading system of wagyu is based on the yield grade and meat quality grade. The yield grade, which determines the usable meat on a carcass, is ranked from C (lowest) to A (highest). The meat quality grade, which is based on marbling, color and brightness, texture and firmness, and quality of fat or “sashi”, is ranked from 1 (lowest) to 5 (highest). A5 is the best quality wagyu.

That most prized marbling, which gives that distinct flavor and tenderness, has a 1 to 12 score scale, with 12 being the highest.

Kobe Beef

P1120805

Kobe beef is wagyu raised in Japan’s Hyogo Prefecture and comes from breed of cattle called Tajima-gyu.  It is the most popular wagyu outside of Japan and its grades range from A1 to A5 and a marbling score of 6 to 12.    

P1120806

P1120810

Perfectly cooked! It gave such an excitement to taste this famous kobe beef in Heijouen, one of the good restaurants in Ginza!

P1120812

Now sliced to perfection! I had to close my eyes on my first bite. Hmmm…first, that melt-in-the mouth tenderness…then that distinctive rich juicy flavor lingering on my palate. It’s easy to be a firm indulger in all things beefy if the quality is this good!

P1120814

Dry-aged kobe beef, sold here in limited quantities only!  

Matsusaka Beef

P1130067

Matsusaka beef comes from Matsusaka City in Mie Prefecture. It is said to be the best kind of beef and has the most tender and expensive cuts in the world.

P1130065

Look at that marbling! If kobe beef has a marbling grade from 6 to 12, matsusaka has 10 to 12.

P1130071

Definitely, matsusaka is the best type of beef!

P1130075

Rokkasen Restaurant has excellent matsusaka and delivers excellent customer service too! This restaurant ranks number #5 of 5,311 restaurants in Shinjuku as per TripAdvisor. Its few branches have already served more than 2.23 million customers since its establishment in 1986.P1140820

MACHA 

P1120271

The solemn and elegant tea ceremony offered a peaceful retreat during the 15th century, a time defined by internal wars. This lovely ritual was usually done by friends in the natural charm of a tea-garden.  They also held elaborate tea parties to display their exquisite utensils such as the spoon, ladle,  kettle, and caddy where the tea leaves were stored.

There are many varieties of teas in Japan such as macha, ryokucha, hojicha, jasmine, oolongcha, genmai, etc. Tea is the royalty of herbs and matcha, the powdered green tea, is the king of teas! Its beautiful verdant green color signifies that it is very rich in chlorophyll, making it a superior detoxifier. This hand-picked, shade-grown, stone-milled tea leaves hold high concentration of antioxidants, minerals, amino acids, vitamins, and micronutrients such as potassium, vitamins A & C, iron, protein, and calcium. It is named as one of the most powerful super foods! It purifies, boosts energy, strengthens the lungs, burns calories, improves cholesterol, and studies have indicated that it has nutrients which can fight cancer and inhibit the attacks of HIV on human T-cells.

TAKOYAKI

takoyaki

My favorite Japanese street food!  Diced octopus, tempura scraps and green onions are encased in a gloriously grilled golden brown balls of wheat-flour batter and served hot with a topping of dried bonito shavings, Japanese mayonnaise and okonomiyaki sauce.

During the early centuries in Japan, there were different variations of the grilled flour-based batter concept but the real takoyaki first hit the streets of Osaka in 1935.

YAKITORI

P1120976

These juicy and flavorful skewers of bite-sized chicken, pork or beef grilled over heated charcoal are perfect for lunch, dinner, snacks, or simply paired with cold drinks.

P1120972

P1120971

Having yakitori inside one of the very tiny eateries lining the narrow 100 meter avenue of Memory Lane or Piss Alley gives you that cozy Japanese feel.

CHAHAN

P1120977

I had this fried rice or chahan with yakitori. This is a delicious meal in itself given the generous amount of fresh shrimps mixed with a flavorful fried Japanese rice.

TONKATSU

P1110866

Breaded premium pork cutlets, deep fried to a crunch! This delectable crunchy soft pork fillets are served with a siding of shredded cabbage and dips of mayo or tonkatsu sauce.

SUKIYAKI

P1130183

One cold rainy night in Tokyo, I had this heartwarming soup, simmering in a hotpot on the table. Sukiyaki is one of my favorite soups!  It’s so yummy with paper-thin slices of beef, vegetables, noodles, and tofu cubes simmering in a flavorful broth with the sweet warishita!

TAMAGOYAKI

P1120060

Hot eggs on kushi  or skewers at Tsukiji Market!

OKAZU

P1110864

A typical Japanese meal comes with small side dishes, miso soup, a small bowl of rice, and a main dish.

Oooops…the chopsticks should not be placed across the top of the bowl of food but should be placed on a chopstick rest when not in use. The ceramics, glass, wood, and stone for plates, bowls and cups create a warm sensory approach.

MISO SHIRU

P1110868

 I enjoyed lifting my bowl of miso soup with both hands and sipping it straight from the bowl.  

WAGASHI

P1120067

Wagashi or Japanese sweets in different forms like flowers and animals, which are mostly based on the adzuki bean, have been served ever since Heian times on special occasions like weddings and tea ceremonies. As with many Japanese delicacies, their appearance is just as important as their flavor.

P1120357P1130057

A childlike glee browsing the spectrum of candy colors and designs!

P1120554

The sweet, smooth, soft  Mochi is a popular Japanese delicacy made of cooked sticky rice,  pounded into a paste and molded into different shapes. Its history dates back to the 8th century and was used by emperors as offerings and samurais as gifts. There is an annual mochi-making festival called Mochi-tsuki as part of the Japanese New Year celebration.

P1120911

Today a high percentage of young Japanese enjoy some western food and the famous Marion Crepes attract a lot of crowd in Harajuku, Takeshita Dori.

Different kinds of fresh seafood and vegetables prepared in different Japanese ways:  raw, fried, grilled, boiled, and steamed.

P1120518

An enjoyable alfresco lunch in a historical island of Enoshima that is also famous for fresh seafood. This plate was a carefully presented mix of raw fresh-caught seafood beautifully played with fresh vegetables.

Yakizakana

P1120516

Grilled fish or yakizakana!

Tazukuri and other tidbits…

P1120519

Sun-dried small fish cooked in sugar and soy sauce or tazukuri.

Fried to golden brown seafood dishes!

P1120522P1120524

KATSUDON and SOBA

P1120440

Having these old traditional dishes the high-tech way… through a vending machine! It’s amazing to dine in a busy restaurant manned by only by a few cooks! The Japanese always think outside the box!

YAKINIKU

P1120292

It’s fun grilling the flavorful bite-sized raw meats over a flame of charcoals in a yakiniku restaurant.

YAKI IMO

P1120592

I saw these roasted sweet potatoes while going around Kamakura. Yaki imo is perhaps one of the healthy snacks the Japanese enjoy, especially during the cold season. Sweet potato is one of my favorite veggies. It tastes so delicious and is highly nutritious! It is one of the best sources of vitamin A and have loads of dietary fiber, potassium, manganese, as well as vitamins B6 and C…and low in saturated fat, sodium and cholesterol.

TAKE-HOME FOOD

P1120287

Even the Japanese take-home meals reflect such dedication to details and presentation, like these displayed in a food hall of the elegant Mitsukoshi Dept. Store in Ginza. Mitsukoshi  has a two-storey  food hall with more than a hundred stalls by famous bakeshops and restaurants.

Since going to the grocery or market and cooking are time-consuming, young professionals and the elderly have become more reliant on eating out or buying the packed ready-to-eat food from food stalls or convenient stores like Family Mart, Lawsons or 7-11.

P1120288

Ready to eat for your own domestic degustation! 

You can check out these sites to know more about Japanese cuisine and restaurants:

http://www.jnto.go.jp/eng/attractions/dining/restaurants/

http://www.followmefoodie.com/2014/01/follow-me-foodie-to-tokyo-japan/

54 Comments on “Japanese Food

  1. I enjoyed and am proud as Japanese to read your post. ROKKASEN is my favorite and it is close to my office. Sometimes I take my colleagues to the restaurant. Recently it is more difficult to be seated by walk-in.
    I am also glad that you enjoyed your stay in Tokyo / Japan. The number of foreigners who visit Japan has been increasing and Japan has been trying to be more tourists friendly country.

    • Yes indeed, it’s hard to get a reservation at Rokkasen. The food and service there are excellent!
      The rich cultural milieu of your country and my fascinating experiences during my stay there gave a potent sentience to my writing. I’m really grateful for your appreciation of my posts. Dōmo arigatōgozaimashita!

  2. I’m a huge fan of Sushi! It looks indeed like a work of art, made with lots of care! And the taste is so pure! Very healthy as well! Didn’t know Japanese were ‘meat lovers’ though.

    • Sushi’s textures and flavors were combined and skillfully arranged in perfect harmony.
      It was only during the Meiji period that they started eating meat. It was even reported that Emperor Meiji himself ate beef in public to promote it.
      Thank you very much!

    • I guess there are only a few vegetarian restaurants in Tokyo. I hope you were able to try shojin ryori, an old Buddhist vegetarian cuisine, which was introduced to Japan during the 6th century. There’s a very good vegetarian restaurant in Tokyo with 2 Michelin stars named Daigo which serves a full-course shojin ryori meal (10-15 courses).

  3. Oh Lord, this post. No food available to me will be able to satisfy me now, not until I purge my brain of these words and images. I swoon for that Kobe.

    • It’s a great experience exploring Japan’s local cuisine and know the value by which they put into their food. Thank you very much for appreciating my post!

    • Places like this just make me absorb and revere such glorious moments. It’s amazing how these treasures are beautifully scattered around this whole wide world…and as we move across different places, we learn the depth of different cultures and history. I’m happy you like my post and very thankful for your warm comment.

  4. Your photos 1st of all are great. Then all those foods, sushi and steak make me salivate and would soon make me raid the pantry or fridge to find something to eat. We visited japan last year , and had some terrific dining experience. As foodies we enjoy and eat anything.

    Thank you for liking my post on Bali in 4D/4N. Please check out my website, www,ramonadetravels.wordpress.com and let me know what you think. I love to travel, photography and food; not necessarily in that order.

    Happy blogging.

    • Your words bring a smile to my face. I too crave for these dishes from time to time…and just the other day, the rain made me crave for a simmering sukiyaki. I’m glad you enjoyed reading my blog. I will definitely visit your site. Thank you very much!

    • I so appreciate your thoughts regarding my post. How I wish I have more time to write. Thoughts like yours inspire and motivate me to continue on sharing my journeys. Thank you very much!

  5. This is such an interesting post – I’m afraid to admit that I’ve never been to a sushi bar – am inspired to correct that in the near future!!
    Emma 🙂

    • I hope you’ll have that chance soon! I’m sure you’ll have fun in a sushi bar. Sushi does not only offer harmony in taste and visual appeal…it reflects a culture. Thank you very much!

  6. Gorgeous food and photos. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I like your passion.

  7. Fantastic post! Wish I’d read it before we were in Toyko in 2014, but we did OK, actually. My personal favorite was a sushi lunch I had at Seamon, on the 6th floor of an office building in the GInza district. It wasn’t crowded that day, and I had a sushi chef all to myself. It was one of my most memorable meals. Thanks again for this post!

    • Thank you very much! It’s impossible to absorb everything given a limited time but I’m sure you were able to digest enough culture when you were in Japan…and had a lot of great moments, like a sushi chef all to yourself! What a unique experience of watching the delicate way of performing the art of making sushi! Wishing you more happy and safe travels!

  8. Thank you for liking my blog on Sun City. If it wasn’t for that, I would have missed this piece. Japan wasn’t really on my bucket list but after reading this, with my love of food and pretty things :), I sure will include Tokyo, Japan as a place to visit and their cuisine to enjoy. I love sushi and ate lots of it even during my pregnancy. My 3 1/2 year old toddler has been eating sushi for as long as I can remember.
    Enjoy the travels and food! They are my favorites, too.

    • It’s so amazing to expand your culinary horizon. The Japanese cuisine gives so much importance to preparation, presentation and even to the manner of eating that there’s that harmonious blend of culture and taste! I can just imagine your cute toddler eating sushi! Always have a safe and enjoyable trip! Thank you very much!

    • Thank you very much for the concern. I highly value all my followers who, despite my absence for a long time, are still there. I just hope that I can write more interesting travel journeys to share with you. I got so busy with work and had no time to travel but recently, I had one great trip which I will be sharing soon. I hope everything’s great with you too!

  9. Everything is fine here. I was just concerned. You take care of your priorities – we’ll still be here when you get back.

  10. I’ve been eating Japanese food ( recently mostly sushi and sashimi and udon noodles) for years. But I never knew all of the interesting history and cultural significance. Thanks for this most interesting post.

    • Oh my, you had three years of the seemingly countless array of rich taste from shokudo, izakaya, depachika, sushi-ya, teppanyaki-ya, etc.!

  11. Your food photos are absolutely swoon worthy and I’m sad I missed out on some of these must-eat dishes whilst in Japan! How lucky you were able to eat at Jiro’s! I shall return there someday and refer to this post as a guide….yum!

    Victoria
    http://awayweroam.com

    • Thank you very much! Going to Japan is one of those wonderful travel adventures! The quality of food is remarkable! How I wish I was able to try master Jiro Ono’s finest sushi! It’s so hard to get a seat at Sukiyabashi Jiro. It’s one of the great places to dine in Japan…and the world.

    • Such a remarkable quality, variety and presentation. I was surprised too that the prices were not as expensive as I had anticipated.

    • My pleasure and thank you very much too! The Japanese cuisine is indeed so enticing. because of its presentation and the taste is excellent because it centers on the ingredients’ natural flavors.

  12. Great post I really enjoyed reading it. The pictures look amazing. Love Japan!

Leave a Reply

